Marc Corra

College Specialist
College of Business

marc corra

Education
BA Sociology, CSU San Bernardino
MA Education (Adult Education), San Francisco State University

What is your approach to advising or supporting students?    

Everyone is unique. Everyone's questions are new to them, even if I may have answered the question to 100 others before. I can help you explore different possibilities, creative solutions, and value your input and decision-making along the way. We will work as a team to make your educational plans a success.

What inspired you to pursue a career in advising?

I didn't know what path I wanted to pursue; I only knew I wanted to get there in the most efficient, effective manner. Creative, thoughtful, caring advisors helped me along the way. I decided that I could do the same for others.

What excties you about helping students at SF State?

Student success is my passion. Looking for ways to overcome obstacles, finding creative solutions, and getting students closer to graduation ignites that passion.

What's your favorite part of your job?

Every day offers a new chance to make an impact on students' lives. Every day requires a new creative solution to a problem the others may not know even exists.

What's the best class you've ever taken? 

Sociology 101. General Education classes are designed to expose you to a variety of topics in order to make you a well-rounded student. But they may also change your path. My second semester Introduction to Sociology went from being a required GE to the first course of my new major.

What's the most unusual job you've ever had? 

Not necessarily unusual, but I spent just 3 hours working in a shoe department at a large department store. When you know it's not right fit, make the decision to get out before you get too far in.

What advice do you have for SF Gators?

Get involved. Join a club or society. Participate in sports or extracurricular activities. Attend events. Explore campus resources. Four years goes by quick, so get the most out of the entire experience.

About me (likes and hobbies):

When not obsessing over all things Star Wars or caring for my 2 pugs, I love day trips and weekend getaways, spending my time meeting new people, seeing new places and experiencing new adventures.

 

email: mcorra@sfsu.edu